top of page

These Unique Virtual Wellness Events Could Help You Find Community & Balance During Quarantine

Updated: Apr 2, 2020


 


We are living in a time we’ll all most surely tell our kids about someday. If you’re like me, you never in a million years would’ve guessed you’d be ordered to shelter in place because a nasty upper respiratory virus is putting us all in mortal danger. The world wide Corvid-19 Pandemic also know by some as “The Rona” has everyone riding their own individual rollercoaster of emotions, struggling to find some normalcy. I personally have been wrecking my brain trying to create some sort of a schedule for myself while staying connected. Over the last week I have found myself scrolling endlessly on social media, eatting far to much, and exercising far to little. Yeah being caught in a worldwide pandemic will do that to you.

I had mentally shut down, trying to stay. distracted from what was really going on combined with feeling slightly sorry for myself, but more so for my family, friends, and the rest of the world. I knew I didn’t want to dwell in that feeling but I didn’t want to force myself into something when I wasn’t feeling it. I had been contemplating for weeks prior to being on complete lock down how I would do what I can to help people get through it but It was taking me longer then I thought to get used to the new norm. Then something cool happened, my influencer agency, Dallas Social Influencers begin offering live streams asking its members to share their talents with others to help people find community and give people something positive to do.

I was instantly inspired by the idea and enjoyed our first live so much that I reached out to offer up an idea I had been toying with. Fast forward..... I host the first Self Care Sunday Live Dance Party and it was a hit! I got so much positive energy + feedback from those who joined in. I was literally on a “posi” high seeing all the beautiful smiling women in their living rooms dancing with me. It’s what sparked my idea for this list. I am sharing 15 ongoing Virtual Wellness Events that have been keeping me sane +busy during my Quarantine. Like have you ever been on virtual cruise before? Well, Me neither but it’s on the list!!




1. Live Wellness Sessions by @beautybarchocolate

(Category: Spiritual + Emotional Self Care)


 

Cleanse your energy + center yourself and more with these live wellness courses. The Beauty Bar Chocolates a Santa Monica based Chocolatier specializing in sugar and dairy free chocolates is using their platform to host Wellness Professionals for live classes. You’ll find health coaching, reiki and meditation classes among the list. If you’re like me and you’ve always wanted to try Reiki therapy here’s your chance to do it free from the comfort of your own home The Reiki class airs April 1st.




2. Live Wellness Sessions by @beautybarchocolate

(Category: Spiritual + Emotional Self Care)

 

This creative influencer agency is offering FREE LIVE classes of all kinds by its headed up by some of its members including meeeeeee! Every [Self Care ] Sunday Join me for a live Dance Party and shake the stress away!!! The next Live Stream is an Eye Makeup Tutorial is Wed March 31st @ 6pm for Movie Night!!




3. The Virtual Voice hosted by @iam_deevine

(Category: Creative Self Care)


 

Mellow out to Live Poetry, listen to live music and get inspired by a dope line up of creatives coming together to uplift their community. Monday April 6th Tune in live @8pm CST 9pm EST




4. SOS Feedback Sessions : Covid19 Mental Health + Music by @soundsofsavings

(Category: Mental + Emotional Self Care)


 

The second installment of this ongoing series will feature live performances + discussions with mental health professionals. The live feedback session will be hosted by Robert Gallagan a Brooklyn Based Psychologist. He will offer feedback and insight Into mental wellness, creativity as a healing strategy, and, managing anxiety and emotions during this crisis in isolation. Artists like the alternative Rock/Hip Hop Band @Oxymorrons will also share insight on how they are dealing with the pandemic in addition to performing. It is a free show but you can also donate to help support the artist. It goes live April 3rd at 6pm EST. 5pm CST



5. Take a 7 Day Virtual Cruise w/ @Curvyfox

(Category: Social Self Care)

 

Sets sail on Monday March 30 - April 5th with Curvy Fox as they help you get over your quarantine blues. The event will be full of music, self care activities and $1,000 in gift card giveaways. All activities are for women and men and they even encourage you all to get dressed for each event. The Kickoff Event is a Pool Party who’s down for showing up to their Cruise living room with their swimsuit on?!



6. Healing Movement Class by @EssenceofMotion

(Category: Physical + Mental Self Care)



 

This unique class combines Movement with positive affirmations. Join the Live Class Monday’s at 6:30pm




7. 11 Poplar Beach Body Workouts Free

(Category: Physical Self Care)


 

Beach Body is one of the most popular workout sites in the world. I still remember the commercials coming on when I was a teen and me falling in love with Hip Hop Abs by Shaun T. I launched my 1st weight loss journey with those DVD’s so I was sooooo excited when my friend Lori, who is a Virtual Health Coach with Beach Body, shared that they would be offering some classes for free to help us through this crazy time in our lives. She was gracious enough to put them all together for us so we won’t have to go searching for them. Click the Picture to head over to her site.



8. Good Vibes Series by @project_beauty_dfw

(Category: Mental + Creative + Financial + Personal + Physical Self Care)

 

Learn something new with classes lead by knowledgeable female entrepreneurs. The first of the weekly installments aired SUNDAY MARCH 29th with a fun acrylic painting class and a guided meditation class soon after. Ongoing classes will cover a variety of topics in finance, self love, fitness, business and more. I couldn’t think of better to top of Self Care Sunday (after dancing with me live of course😉) Check their IG for future events



9. Virtual Salsa Class by @givethemhair

(Category: Physical Self Care)


 

Learn NY Style Salsa w/ Dance Coach Fitgi Saint-Louis Saturday’s at 1pm on her live.




10. 3 for Thursday open discussion hosted by @TherapyforBlackGirls

(Category: Mental + Emotional Self Care)


 

Every Thursday at 12 noon you can tune in to TFBG IG Live to join the open discussion on vital mental health topics. Licensed Therapists openly discuss predetermined topics and even answer questions.


11. We in the House by @TheConnectDallas

(Category: Social + Mental +Creative Self Care)

 

Free weekly live events that include everything from meditation to learning how to play spades. Click the announcement to head to their insta.



12. Free virtual gym for home workouts By @beautyandbeastmodefit

(Category: Physical Self Care)


 

HOW IT WORKS:

- It’s a private group on Facebook you can request to join

- Within the group, there are 10 free workouts anyone can do, flexible sample meal plans + recipes, daily support, & accountability.❤️


- They have a 24hr livestream link where everyone hops on & workout together each morning...all staggered so sometimes at 6 AM others show up at 7 AM other people do 8 or 9 AM.




13. FREE Dance Classes From @AileyExtension

(Category: Physical + Mental Self Care)


 

Live stream classes like ballet and hip hop on instagram + catch free live performances on their website. https://www.alvinailey.org/ailey-all-access



14. Thirsty Thursday Virtual Happy Hour+ Open Discussion by @nevafindsfood + @mochasandmimosas

(Category: Social Self Care)

 

Two Dallas Foodies have joined forces to host a safe space to talk and laugh over midday drinks. Share your corona stories with people who understand and find a support system to help you get through this trying time.




15. Dance Skate Workshop hosted by @SureGrip

(Category: Physical + Mental+ Creative Self Care)

 

Grab your skates and head to the smoothest surface you can find in your house. Learn a fun dance skate routine with choreographer and dance teacher @morganweske every Wednesday @ 4pm EST/5pm CST. Click above to check for future dates.


The best thing about live streams especially on Instagram is that you can view them for 24hrs. Even if you miss it you can go back at watch it later that day. That’s a win in my book! I hope this list helps! Let me know in the comments if more list of events like these can help. Until next time....


Positive Energy Love and Light

-Crys


113 views0 comments
bottom of page