top of page

Summer Self care Guide

Updated: May 31, 2019

Routine ideas + Tips to help you survive the summer heat, family bbqs, and more.


Crys Tucker Wear Your Peace
Far North Dallas, Dallas, TX

Summer is hot as Hell in Texas and we've got quite a few holidays coming up that call for outdoor gatherings. Here are some self care ideas + tips to help you through the heat!


Target Swimwear as Seen on Crys of Wear Your Peace Blog
Summer Holiday Self Care Guide
Tip #6 Go outside (in the Evening) The sun is a great source of energy but can be draining at it's hottest times(12-4pm). If you can help it, try to only go outside once the sun is starting to set.
Tip #5 Get some R&R. Enjoy your time with family and friends as Summer always boast the perfect time to have Picnic’s, Family Reunions and more fun in the sun! Just remember to plan time for yourself. Taking a day off from EVERYTHING should be a huge part of everyone's self care routine! I take time off to recharge my batteries, realign my energies, and refocus on the goals ahead to help me operate at my best. Sometimes pressing the pause button for a few moments can help you gain perspective.
Some ways I recharge:
  • unplug from everything

  • relax by any body of water

  • read a book in a quite place

  • stay home in my pajamas all day

Tip #4 Drink Water. Ok so I know this one seems basic and not like a tip but honey let me just tell you, making water part of my daily routine has given me life! I use to be that "ugh water is so bland" "I need something with flavor" Flavored Sparkling water as a suitable replacement, person but I have learned the error of my ways! Water not only replenishes the electrolytes you lose when you sweat, it is the only thing you can drink to properly hydrate yourself. In the hotter months, it is important to focus on your water intake more then normal. You can easily be dehydrated if you don't drink enough, especially if you are spending a lot of time outdoors.
Tip #3 Cool off in the Pool. This is a fun one and pretty self explanatory. Go to a pool (preferablly after 4pm) wear your cutest swimsuit (check below to get the one I'm wearing) and wade in the water to cool down. It's a great way to relax, and water is also a great source of energy much like the sun. This means it can also be draining. If you spend about 20-30 minutes in the pool you can come out feeling more revitalized and recharged.
Tip #2 Eat Light. I know. I know. It's BBQ season. How in the world are you supposed to do this one, am I right?! I got you! Try choosing which days you want to eat light and which days to enjoy your favorites!
Here's a routine I found and try to follow
  • Sun-Mon Eat fresh fruits and a mixture of raw and cooked veggies w/honey or honey mustard dressings only Whole Grain Breads only no cheese Breakfast Lunch & Dinner

  • Fri-Sat Breakfast and Lunch fresh fruits and a mixture of raw and cooked veggies w/honey or honey mustard dressings only Whole Grain Breads only Cheese Allowed Dinner Heavier plant based meals ie. Pasta , Veggie Burgers, Pizza, etc.

Tip #1 Participate in Fun Activities. Find cool stuff to do. You'll get a confidence boost from it! There is a certain sense of accomplishment you get when you try something new or finally do something you've always wanted to do. It doesn't matter how big or small it was. For example I've always wanted to chill in a hammock. No really! I'd never been in one before an always loved how cool they looked on all the vacation commercials I’ve seen. Memorial day weekend, I got the chance to try one out and let me just say there is DEFINITELY and art to getting in one of those things sheeesh. Check my VLOG for clips of me v hammock in a video adaptation of tips #3 & 5 on my IGTV Channel.

I hope this guide helps you develop a routine that will be beneficial to the life you want to lead. Let me know if it does and drop some of your summer self care tips and ideas in the comments. As always

positive-energy-love-light

-Crys

 

Outfit Dets:

42 views1 comment
bottom of page